Reader Services Blog

FLASH FICTION Ruin Falls by Jenny Milchman

Ruin Falls / Jenny Milchman Ruin Falls / Jenny Milchman
When the Daniels family takes their first vacation in years, they wake up to discover their children are missing from the hotel room.  Liz Daniels is determined to get her children back at any cost in this page turner that is part ecothriller and part family psychological drama.    You won't be able to put this one down!

WHAT'S NEW WEDNESDAY! Chestnut Street by Maeve Binchy

Chestnut Street by Maeve Binchy

Chestnut Street by Maeve Binchy
Maeve Binchy imagined Dublin's Chestnut Street early in her career and every now again she would write about one of its residents for "the future".  Her editors and family gathered these unpublished short stories together to give you one last volume from this popular author who died in 2012.

FLASH FICTION! Eggsecutive orders / Julie Hyzy

Eggsecutive orders / Julie Hyzy

Eggsecutive orders / Julie Hyzy

White House chef Ollie Parras is busy getting ready for the annual White House Easter Egg Roll when one of the guests dies at a state dinner.   This mystery is fun to solve and the egg recipes in the back look delicious. 

WHAT'S NEW WEDNESDAY! Far gone / Laura Griffin

WHAT'S NEW WEDNESDAY!  Far gone / Laura Griffin

Far gone / Laura Griffin

If you’re in the mood for a romance with lots of suspense, pick up Laura Griffin’s latest.  Austin homicide detective Andrea Finch gets a disturbing call from her younger brother about suspicious activity at a backcountry ranch.  Both the action and the romance in this story will keep you turning pages.

FLASH FICTION! People of the book by Geraldine Brooks

People of the book by Geraldine Brooks

People of the book by Geraldine Brooks

Passover is just around the corner so this is the perfect time to read People of the Book.  While restoring the famous Sarajevo Haggadah, Hanna Heath discovers some artifacts hidden in its binding.  The author uses these artifacts to create a fictional account of the book’s 500 year history.  You’ll love this blend of history and mystery.

What's New Wednesday! Mimi Malloy, At Last! by Julia MacDonnell

Mimi Malloy at last!
Mimi Malloy at last  / Julia MacDonnell

Are you in the mood for a humorous family chronicle that features strong women and a bit of Irish history?  Fans of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher will enjoy meeting Mimi Malloy.

FLASH FICTION!

 I've got you under my skin / Mary Higgins Clark

 I've got you under my skin / Mary Higgins Clark

In Clark's latest novel, a TV producer and single mom is filming a new cold case series when the real killer surfaces.  While you wait for your copy, try a book by Lisa Gardner or Iris Johansen.   Both of these authors write suspenseful novels featuring independent women.

WHAT'S NEW WEDNESDAY!

Destroyer angel / Nevada Barr Destroyer angel / Nevada Barr
A vacation brings Park Ranger Anna Pigeon to Minnesota’s Iron Range to test camping equipment for the handicapped.  As usual, this series offers a fantastic mystery and wonderful descriptions of the great outdoors.  Which national park would you like to see Anna work in next?

Review: The Bear: A Novel by Claire Cameron

Five-year-old Anna awakes in her tent to the confusing sound of some sort of commotion at her family’s remote campsite. Moments later her father grabs her and her three-year-old brother and deposits them in the large metal Coleman cooler. Hours later, the children manage to escape.

WHAT’S NEW WEDNESDAY! The accident / Chris Pavone

The accident / Chris Pavone

The accident / Chris Pavone

When a manuscript that threatens to bring down a media giant lands on Isabel Reed’s desk, everyone scrambles to make sure it doesn’t get published.  Pick up this exciting thriller when you have lots of time to read because you won’t be able to put it down.

Pages