Book to movie, Fall 2012

Many of the new fall movies are based on books.  Check out the book before you go see the movie.

Cloud atlas : a novel / David Mitchell  

Cloud Atlas

Movie released 10/26/12

Cloud Atlas / David Mitchell

Recounts the connected stories of people from the past and the distant future, from a nineteenth-century notary and an investigative journalist in the 1970s to a young man who searches for meaning in a post-apocalyptic world.

Team of Rivals  


Movie released 11/9/12

Based on

Team of rivals : the political genius of Abraham Lincoln / Doris Kearns Goodwin

An analysis of Abraham Lincoln's political talents identifies the character strengths and abilities that enabled his successful election, in an account that also describes how he used the same abilities to rally former opponents in winning the Civil War.

Anna Karenina / Leo Tolstoy  

Anna Karenina

Movie released 11/16/12

Anna Karenina / Leo Tolstoy

Presents the nineteenth-century Russian novelist's classic in which a young woman is destroyed when she attempts to live outside of the moral laws of her society

Life of Pi : a novel / Yann Martel  

Life of Pi

Movie released 11/21/12

Life of Pi  / Yann Martel

Zookeeper's son Pi Patel sets sail for America, but when the ship sinks, he escapes on a life boat and is lost at sea with a dwindling number of animals until only he and a hungry Bengal tiger remain.

The silver linings playbook / Matthew Quick  

The silver linings playbook

Movie released 11/21/12

The silver linings playbook / Matthew Quick

After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano moves back in with his parents and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife. and meets a girl named Tiffany

The hobbit, or, There and back again / J.R.R. Tolkien  

The hobbit

Movie released 12/14/12

The hobbit, or, There and back again / J.R.R. Tolkien

Chronicles the adventures of the inhabitants of Middle-earth and Bilbo Baggins, the hobbit who brought home to The Shire the One Ring of Power

Killing floor  / Lee Child



Jack Reacher

Movie released 12/21/12

Killing floor / Lee Child

First Jack Reacher novel

Jack Reacher, an ex-military policeman passes through the town of Margrave, Georgia and is accused of murder. He must find the true killer and prove his innocence--with virtually the whole town against him.


Summaries from publisher materials