Have you discovered Tana French?

Irish mystery writer Tana French garnered uncommonly good reviews and widespread critical praise with her debut, and has continued to impress critics and popular readers with each new book about the fictitious Dublin Murder Squad. In her finely-plotted police procedurals, mysteries don't always get solved, criminals don't always get punished, and the guy doesn't always win the girl. Grim realities of social class, police politics, and human violence give the stories a dark tone, while the vividly-drawn character portraits of the protagonists add emotional depth.

Fans of Stieg Larsson, Dennis Lahane, and Gillian Flynn will find much to like in Tana French's thrillers.

In the woods

In the woods

Dublin Murder Squad Volume 1

Twenty years after witnessing the violent disappearances of two companions from their small Dublin suburb, detective Rob Ryan investigates a chillingly similar murder that takes place in the same wooded area, a case that forces him to piece together his traumatic memories.

Digital book

The likeness

The likeness

Dublin Murder Squad Volume 2

Traumatized detective Cassie Maddox struggles in her career and relationship with Sam O'Neill while investigating the unsettling murder of a young woman whose name matches an alias Cassie had used as an undercover officer.

Digital book

Faithful place

Faithful place

Dublin Murder Squad Volume 3

Detective Frank Mackey finds himself straight back in the dark tangle of relationships he left behind twenty-two years ago when the suitcase belonging to his first love, Rosie Daly, shows up behind a fireplace in a derelict house on Faithful Place.

Broken Harbour

Broken Harbour

Dublin Murder Squad Volume 4        To be published this summer.

In Broken Harbour, a ghost estate outside Dublin - half-built, half-inhabited, half-abandoned - two children and their father are dead. The mother is on her way to intensive care. Scorcher Kennedy is given the case because he is the Murder squad's star detective.

Sources:  Novelist and publisher materials

nbm

Blog: